South Korea, Here I Come!

I can’t believe today is actually here! I have been waiting for and anticipating my trip to meet Brian in Korea for so long and now I am actually on my way. Crazy!

Workout

I knew I wanted to get a decent workout in before traveling for the next one million hours so I set my alarm for 4:30 a.m. and was at the gym and waiting when the doors opened.

My goal was to shave about 30 seconds off of my last 5k run but my body wasn’t feeling it so early in the morning and I ended up adding about 30 seconds instead.

My first mile went by in 7:08. The second in 7:14 and then I slowed…big time…and knocked out the final 1.1 miles in 8:34 for a final time of 22:56.

Still under 23 minutes so I’ll take it.

After my workout I got myself ready for the airport and my long flight. Complete with compression socks to keep my blood flowing nicely over all those hours.

The purple really sets off the pink jeans, huh? 😉

Once dressed and prepped i did some final things around the house…Took the last of the trash out…washed one final load of laundry as to not leave anything dirty…and enjoyed the quiet of the morning with Telli.

Before I knew it my parents were at the door and we were loading up my bags into the car!

I said my last goodbye to the monster and put him in his cage, trying to keep it as “normal” for him as possible so that he didn’t get unnecessarily worked up like when Brian left.


(A little blurry but he was actually looking at the camera!)

I was super close to crying but I kept it together for him. And more so for my mom, who definitely would have broken her strong act if she saw me upset (Sorry mom I’m sure I just made you break it now though!).


(A little better…)

Things were pretty smooth sailing once I made it to the airport with one glitch at baggage check. But after a slight nominal fee to check a third bag that they wouldn’t let me carry on, we were back in business. Even better for me now though because I don’t have to worry about carting around a carry on.  Not to mention, I was prepared for whatever may happen and had my purse packed in that carry on with my jewelry inside so all I had to do was a quick unzip and grab that out and it was good to be checked!

Smart packing, people! 🙂

Breakfast

When I made it to my gate, I accessed the food situation and decided on McDonald’s maple and fruit oatmeal for breakfast.

Not the healthiest oatmeal but better than the other options I was presented with!!

When I went to board this first flight, the Delta clerk at the gate told me that my seat was already scanned as having entered the flight so, “if it was taken when I got to it, just to come back out and let her know”.  Umm, hello lady, I am not fighting the one way traffic back off of the plane to let you know that your airline made a mistake.  Luckily for me, even though my seat was taken, I was able to get a better one in couple rows ahead of my original one.

I went from a middle seat in a full row to a window seat with an empty seat next to me.  More room to spread out and relax! 🙂

Now it’s time to sit out this flight until I make it to Atlanta and get on board my flight straight to Incheon, Korea!

It’s go time baby!!!

Question:

Do you usually travel with a carry on or check all of your bags?  I think it is so much easier to check them but for short trips a carry on is just easier for quick airport in and outs!


4 responses to “South Korea, Here I Come!

  • Robin Johnson

    I don’t like to check bags. I like to pack everything into a carry on. Just easier and plus your bags don’t get lost! I can’t wait to see all of the pictures of you and B. Good luck!

  • Bug

    ahhhhhhhh so excited to see you tomorrow!!!!!!

  • fitvegasfoodie

    This post made me feel so many emotions for you – so sad to leave your puppy but happy for you & Brian to start your lives together! I don’t believe in “luck” so I will say good blessings! 🙂

    • Jenny

      Thanks Joey!!!! It definitely was a mixed emotion morning but I’m happy to be in Korea now and back with Brian!!! Thank you for the well wishes and blessings!

Leave a comment