Daily Archives: May 1, 2012

Clean for Three

Day Three of the Keeping it Clean Challenge has come and gone and I’m here to check in with my eats!

Breakfast:

Chocolate Banana Protein Smoothie with Spinach

Morning Snack:

Lara Bar

Lunch:

Turkey Burger with a Lettuce Roll, Topped with Tomato & Avocado – Asparagus on the side

Afternoon Snack:

Peanuts with Raisins

Dinner:

Hummus with a tortilla & Mustard Chicken with Vegetables and Saffron Rice.

  • I was too full from the hummus to eat much of my chicken and rice but polished off the veggies!

Dessert:

Sliced Banana with Peanut Butter and Dark Chocolate Chips

That’s my Day #3 in a nutshell but make sure you check out Cookies & Crunches and Any Little Thing for more (mostly) clean eating endeavors!


Chewy Banana Honey Oat Squares

When I started the Keeping it Clean Challenge, I decided to put together a healthy snack that would be acceptable for me to have when I wanted something “sweet” that wouldn’t be breaking my challenge guidelines. With that in mind, I obviously started out going for a favorite treat of mine, granola.

I had half a banana that needed to be used before it went bad so I wondered what mixing it in with the honey would do to make a banana flavored granola. The results weren’t exactly what I was looking for; instead of a crunchy granola bar, I ended up with a chewy one. However, regardless of them being chewy rather than crunchy, they still make a perfect little treat.

Chewy Banana Honey Oat Squares

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 banana, mashed

Directions:

Heat and mashed banana in the microwave for 45 seconds, stirring half way through. Add oats and stir until completely mixed with the honey and banana. Spread the mixture on a baking pan covered with foil and shape into a large rectangle. Bake at 350°F for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through. Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes before slicing into the squares. Wrap individual squares in foil and store in fridge for easy snacks throughout the week.

Considering the difference in what I was aiming for when I started this recipe and what the final outcome was, these squares are an easy, sweet treat that makes a convenient on-the-go snack or even a satisfying dessert.

Try topping them with a smear of peanut butter.

And even a sprinkle of dark chocolate chips!

Not your typical snack bar but a surprisingly delicious treat.


Bomunsan Mountain Hike

With yesterday being an off day, Brian and I kept the day pretty low-key and spent a couple of hours exploring Bomunsan Park. Since I already was aware of what the route there looked like hill-wise, we opted to take a cab to one of the main areas of the park and then venture out from there.

The scenery was gorgeous as we walked through the park on the paved pedestrian path.

Eventually we made our way to a Buddhist Temple on the mountainside.

The decoration and detail was unbelievable.

I’m not sure if the view from the mountain or the view of the temple was better!

Along the way we passed by one of the spring water spouts where people can break for a drink of water or even fill their water bottles with clean water to take home with them.

We also passed a ton of different exercise areas placed along the sides of the path.

Don’t let this mid-pull up picture fool you…I was able to do two complete pull ups in a row!

Overall, a relaxing afternoon taking in the outdoor world that Korea has to offer!

Workout

I made sure to get out of bed with time to make it to the track for a workout this morning to get some sprint work completed.

  • .75 mile warm up run to the track
  • 4 minute tabata: 20 second sprint, 10 second recovery (.5 mile)
  • 1 mile run
  • 4 minute tabata: 20 second sprint, 10 second recovery (.5 mile)
  • .75 mile cool down run from track

A total of 3.50 miles on the morning.

Breakfast

After my workout I put together a quick smoothie to eat while I skyped with my parents and Telli Butt. The usual banana, protein powder, soy milk and frozen spinach.

Perfectly clean breakfast to refuel me!