Cuckoo for Couscous

I made it through the morning with no morning snack!!  And no grumpiness either!  SCORE!

Being super busy at work and getting called into an impromptu meeting were a huge help with my success.  🙂

Lunch

Ever since I have had couscous in my kitchen cabinet from when I made the Mini Turkey Meatloaf Muffins a few weeks ago, I have been on a craze for it.

I keep wanting to mix it up and try different combinations with the couscous.  So far I have made Apple Walnut Chicken Couscous and Spinach, Chickpeas and Feta Couscous and also had couscous with red peppers on Monday at Katie and Brian’s (Katie was inspired by my couscous craze to feature it in the dinner she was making as well).

Today’s combo consisted of:

  • 1/3 cup couscous
  • 2/3 cup plus a little extra water
  • 1/4 cup chickpeas
  • handful of baby spinach
  • 1/2 oz. craisins
  • 2 oz. turkey deli meat
  • 1/2 oz. feta cheese
  • 3 baby carrots
  • handful of cauliflower

I first brought the water and chickpeas, carrots and cauliflower to a boil.  Once it reached a boil, I added in the couscous, craisins and spinach and stirred well.

I covered the pot and removed it from the heat, letting it sit for 5 minutes.

After the 5 minutes was up I had fluffy, veggie filled couscous!

Couscous medley

While the couscous was sitting, I had browned the cut up turkey in a separate pan and added it to the fluffed couscous medley, along with the feta cheese once ready.  After mixing everything together, it was time to transfer lunch to a bowl for eating!

So colorful!

The mix was so colorful and delightfully delicious!!  Nice, filling lunch packed with nutrients!

Lunch!

I’m already scheming in my head for the my next couscous concoction!

Enjoy your afternoon!  Back to work!!  (Not forgetting my afternoon snack – my apple is on board!)


2 responses to “Cuckoo for Couscous

  • LegallyBalanced

    Do you use regular or whole wheat couscous? I’ve made it before but it always ends up bland. Your recipes look lovely though! Don’t feel bad about needing a midmorning snack….if i don’t eat every 3 hours I turn into a total bia!

  • Jenny

    Right now I’m using regular because they didn’t have whole wheat when I last bought it…but I’d prefer the whole wheat. By itself, it definitely can be bland…add different vegetables or try using broth to cook it with instead of just plain water.

Leave a comment