Sunday Morning Catch Up!

A quick overview of yesterday’s activities and eats…

Lunch

I packed lunch to take with me to work but ended up grabbed two half wraps from the spread that they served us, one grilled chicken and one veggie.  Both were delicious.  On the side I had a small serving of pasta salad and some raw veggies with dip.

And for dessert, I had FOUR brownies.  I obviously couldn’t touch the cookie tray (thanks for Lent) but it didn’t stop me from trying a brownie or two…or four.

The sugar binge ended up making me a complete snack feene!  I was grabbing pretzels, trail mix, anything in sight for the rest of the afternoon until I left for football.

By the time I got to my football game all of that food was sitting like a brick in my stomach!  maaaah!  At least it didn’t hold me back from having a good game and our team ended up winning by 5 points on a last seconds touchdown.  woohooo!

Workout

When I got home from my game I changed my clothes and headed directly to the gym.  I was debating between actually going and taking a rest day but again Brian (thank you, thank you thank you) encouraged me to get it together and get a workout in.  He reminded me how miserable I would be later in the evening if I didn’t do so.  He always says as long as he keeps me fed and worked out, I’m easy to get along with!  I love that he knows me so well.

My workout ended up being the same as this one from last week and similar to Friday’s except I did my arm/leg cardio strength circuits between my three 8 min/mile runs rather than my core circuits.

Again, those brownies made it a struggle to push out this workout but after I was done, I felt much better!

I’m glad I stuck with the motto on my t-shirt for the day and busted out a workout!

Lazy Sucks. Just Do It.

Dinner

Dinner last night was comprised of random ingredients that I was craving.

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup dry couscous
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • handful of fresh baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese

First I brought the chicken broth to a boil in a medium saucepan.  I then added in the couscous, spinach and chickpeas.

One pan dinner

I covered the pan, removed it from the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes.  Once ready, I stirred in the feta cheese and transferred dinner to a serving bowl.

Super fast dinner

Very delicious dinner in under ten minutes.  Just my style.

Spinach, Feta and Chickpea Couscous

I currently am a big fan of couscous.  So easy to make and so versatile as well.  You can pretty much make it with any combo for a delicious dinner or side dish.

The rest of the evening consisted of laying low and enjoying some basketball games.  Go Butler and UConn! 🙂

Oh and of course a little dessert was included as well.

Rice cake desserts

Two cinnamon apple rice cakes.  One topped with crunchy pb and one topped with sugar free caramel sauce with a Dole pack of dried yogurt apples and unsalted peanuts.  Annnd  a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter right from the jar 🙂

Breakfast

And now on to this morning!

After sleeping in till 8:00 a.m. (I feel old saying that is sleeping in!) I put together a variation of my pre-race/long run breakfast.  A blueberry Alternative Bagel topped with:

Barney Butter and frozen banana

Barney Almond Butter and frozen banana slices on one side.

Crunchy pb and chopped dates

And crunchy peanut butter with chopped dates on the other side.

Love this new combo and also really like using the frozen banana slices instead of fresh slices.  I went with the frozen so that I wouldn’t have to peel a whole banana for only a few slices and I’m happy I did!  Nice, cold touch to breakfast.  I can’t wait to try a a banana, dates and peanut butter mix all together on toast/a bagel/an english muffin.  Definitely has lots of potential.

Breakfast

As for now, off to the gym for a long run (hence the pre long-run breakfast)! 😉

Have a great Sunday everyone!!!


Leave a comment