Good Morning, Arizona!

Good Morning from sunny Arizona!!

I arrived in Tucson last night around 9:45 p.m. local time and was so excited to see Brian waiting for me at the airport. I know it has only been two weeks since I last saw him but it feels like an eternity! Since I was still on east coast time and it was waaaay past my bed time in that time zone and since Brian had to be up early for practice this morning we both crashed pretty much the second we made it back to his room!

I did have one surprise waiting for me though!

Brian thought to make Valentine’s Day come early with flowers, (double) chocolates, a stuffed dog and a big box that still remains a surprise to me!

Good thing I came prepared with a surprise V-day present for him too! 😉

___________________________

First thing this morning, I wanted to get a workout in to start my mini vacay off on the right foot. I ate a Luna Bar to get something in my stomach and then ventured to find the fitness room at the hotel.

It’s located directly next to the pool and is pretty decent fitness center for a hotel.

It’s not very large in size but seeing that I was the only person in there until the very end of my workout, the size wasn’t an issue. The equipment is all Precor, with treadmills and ellipticals available along with a free weight area and core area complete with medicine and stability balls.

I’m pretty sure I could get use to view from the treadmill…

…it sure beats the back of other people’s t-shirts that I see at the gym at home!

Workout

I was on the treadmill for a 40 minute routine that included running, walking and sprints. I started with 30 minutes of steady running, walked for a couple and then worked in a four-minute Tabata of sprints before walking out the rest of the 40 minutes.

After the treadmill, I did some core work with this view to look up at:

Who wouldn’t want to workout with these views?!

I mixed in a variety of different exercises:

  • Hamstring curl with stability ball
  • Basic crunches
  • Crunches on stability ball
  • Crunch with side twist with medicine ball
  • Free weight swings
  • Standing side bends
  • Uneven alternating push ups with medicine ball
  • Crunches with stability ball pass (from hands to feet)

After my core work, I finished up with some stretching and called it a workout. I’m sure I will be venturing back out today to explore, apparently there is a 3.5 mile trail directly across the street, so it looks like more exercise is definitely in my future!

I’m also pretty sure some time relaxing right here is also in my future.

Yessss, please!

As for now, off to snack on some yogurt and clementines before deciding what to get into next!

Catch y’all later!!! 🙂

Question:

Are you more motivated to workout and fit random exercise into your day when you are in an unfamiliar location?


3 responses to “Good Morning, Arizona!

Leave a comment