Friday Night Finger Food

Tonight’s dinner was the perfect healthy makeover of a usual childlike Friday night fried finger food.

Baked Fish Sticks

Serves: 1
Preheat Oven: 375°

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 4 oz. filet of white fish of choice (I used tilapia)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 egg beaters
  • 1/2 cup panko
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Cut fish filet in half and then into strips.

2. Prep three shallow bowls next to one another, each with one of the following ingredients: flour, egg beaters & panko.

3. Sprinkle the fish pieces with salt and pepper to taste.

4. Take the fish pieces and one by one cover them in flour, shaking off any excess. Follow by dipping each into the egg beaters and then cover in panko. Press the panko firmly onto the fish for better hold.

5. Lay the prepared fish pieces on a baking sheet lined with foil and bake for 25 minutes or until fish flakes easily. Flip once half way through the bake time.

Alas, there you have it, quick and easy fish sticks with very minimal prep.

To be eaten with your fingers and served with ketchup for dipping, of course!

Even better, the nutritional stats are waaaay better than those greasy, fried fish sticks!

With my fish sticks, I made some seasoned squash and zucchini that I tossed in a ziploc bag with olive oil and seasoned salt, sealed the bag and worked the oil and salt throughout.

I then cooked the squash over medium-low heat in a cover pan for about 15 minutes.

Possibly the best squash and zucchini mix I have ever made for myself! I finished almost the entire amount that I cooked!

And since I couldn’t let the whole wheat baguette I have been obsessing over since last night get left out, I made a few slices of homemade garlic bread with butter spray and Garlic Gold sea salt nuggets.

Yum!

Question:

Did you eat fish sticks growing up? We never had them in our house, I’m not really sure why not but I do remember the first time I was at a friend’s house and was served them. I was scared to even try them and coated them in ketchup but ended up loving them.


2 responses to “Friday Night Finger Food

  • Laura @ LauraLikesDesign

    We never had fishsticks in our house either! Growing up, they freaked me out since they were so foreign to me…I remember pushing them around my plate at friends’ houses because I didn’t like them. I was such a picky child, though.

    • Jenny

      haha that’s too funny. I luckily only ever encountered them at the one friends house and ended up liking them but I definitely turned my nose up to them to start and was soooo nervous for dinner when I heard what we were having…haha

Leave a comment