Home is Where the Pitching Machine Is…

Thanks to the blog of another woman married to the game of baseball, I came across this article today about life in a batting cage.

It’s an older article (published in 2007) and after reading about the batting cage that was originally built to be just that, a batting cage, and turned into a home for the couple and their young son, complete with a place to sleep, eat and hit, I was amazed.


(click image for source)

Reggie and Amber Willits’ strange living arrangement came about trying to save money building a house while on a minor league baseball salary. In the long run, the odd living arrangement paid off since Reggie has been in the big leagues for parts of every season since the article was published.

I can’t help but mention, though, that two thoughts went through my head when I was reading this.

  1. You gotta do, what ya gotta do. I would do it for Brian in a heartbeat.
  2. Thank God that Brian is a pitcher! šŸ˜‰

Dinner

For tonight’s dinner, I whipped out the very last of the leftovers from earlier in the week to make yet another Italian inspired dish.

Open faced eggplant parmesan sub bites.

I said after I made the eggplant parm that I was looking forward to using leftovers to make a sub and tonight I did just that, but in an open face bite form.

I grabbed a whole wheat baguette at the grocery store and sliced it into enough small pieces to hold the eggplant parm I had remaining.

I toasted the bread pieces and then added a piece of the eggplant parm, some extra sauce and a slice of fresh mozzarella to the top of each before putting them back in the oven to heat through and for the cheese to get nice and melted.

Oh. My. Gosh.

Between the crisp bread, the juicy eggplant and the gooey cheese, these bite sized sub pieces were amazing.

And perfect size for finger food. I would definitely keep these in mind for future appetizers when hosted a party!

My sister scolded me for eating vegetables as sides with my last two eggplant dinners. She told me, “no good Italian eats vegetables with their pasta”. I claimed I was in the clear since the rollatini and parm were both eggplant based.

So as to not upset big sister tonight,Ā  I had a side salad with raspberry vinaigrette dressing along with my meal.Ā  Happy Katie?

Question:

Would you live in someplace crazy and unorthodox for the person you love?


2 responses to “Home is Where the Pitching Machine Is…

Leave a comment