Greek Potato Salad

One thing I absolutely love in the summer months is my mom’s potato salad. It’s full of taste and also full of oh so (not) good for you mayonnaise. Whenever she makes it for a cookout, I always make sure to have some but try to control myself as to not over do it with the creamy mayo that my body isn’t used to eating anymore.

I had some baby potatoes this weekend that I needed to cook before they spoiled and knowing that I was going to have a burger for dinner on Sunday, potato salad just seemed like a good fit.

Although…I knew I wanted to make a healthier version of an old favorite.  I promised I would share the final product with you all and here it is!

Greek Potato Salad

Ingredients:

  • 16 small potatoes
  • 2 hardboiled eggs, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. chopped onions
  • 2/3 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • Garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Steam or boil potatoes until cooked through ad soft and left cool for 25 minutes.

2. Cut potatoes into quarters and mix with egg and onions.

3. Add yogurt and spices and stir until well mixed. Add more yogurt as needed depending on your taste preference for potato salad.

So break out those picnic baskets (yes, I know its a little cold yet for picnics) and fill them up with your favorite cookout foods, including this Greek potato salad. I promise its a keeper!

Question:

If you could makeover one cookout dish in a healthier version, what would it be?


Leave a comment