The Walls Start Shaking, The Earth Was Quaking

So relaxing this afternoon and getting some sleep didn’t exactly play out how I had hoped.

I was laying on the couch after lunch and was just about to fall asleep when the whole apartment started shaking. My only concern was the fact that our TV was shaking so hard, I thought it was going to fall off of the shelf we have it placed on. Scary.

My first thought was, “wow, they are really doing some hardcore construction in the building today. Maybe I should have stayed at work.”

And then I realized that no amount of construction in the building would make it move like it did. And if the construction was doing that to the building, I should probably move out, like tomorrow.

Everyone evacuated the buildings in the area so I made my way down the 10 flights of stairs and sat in the hot sun in my sweatpants and long-sleeved shirt until I finally decided I had enough, the ground wasn’t moving under me anymore and I was heading back inside.

Earthquake in Baltimore. Freaky.

Around 4 o’clock I was finally able to lay down for a nap. A nap that I ended up waking up from because I was starving. I ate some yogurt right before going to sleep but apparently it wasn’t enough to help me sleep soundly!

So the only thing on my mind when I made it out of bed was food, which brings us to dinner.

Dinner

For dinner I threw together a super easy sloppy turkey mix. Just kinda went with it…

Sloppy Turkey Sandwich
Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz. ground lean turkey
  • 1.5 tbsp. ketchup
  • 1 tbsp. low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1. Brown the turkey in a skillet pan on the stove top.

2. In a small bowl mix the ketchup, soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce until combined.

3. Add sauce mix to the ground turkey in pan and leave over heat until turkey is cooked through.

I served the sloppy turkey mix on a potato hotdog roll.

On the side I mixed together some bacon and cheese mashed potatoes.

Bacon Herb Goat Cheese Potatoes
Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 5 baby red potatoes
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 oz. herb goat cheese
  • 2 slices cooked bacon, crumbled

1. Poke each potato several times with a fork and microwave until soft. Approximately 2 minutes.

2. Cut the potatoes into small pieces and add to a medium-sized bowl.

3. Add milk and mix with hand mixer until well combined and potatoes are smooth.

4. Add in goat cheese and mix well.

5. Stir in bacon pieces and serve.

For as hungry as I was when I woke up from my nap, I couldn’t even finish my dinner. Maaaah!

Oh well, that just means leftover mashed potatoes to add to tomorrow’s lunch!

I hope everyone is having a great Tuesday night! I’m off to veg on the couch before heading back to bed for the night!

Question:

Did you feel the earthquake where you are? What were your initial thoughts on what it was?  

Have you ever experienced an earthquake wherever you live?


2 responses to “The Walls Start Shaking, The Earth Was Quaking

  • leashieloo

    Being from the Midwest, I have never felt an earthquake in my life! So imagine my surprise when we also felt the quake in Ohio! I flipped out, I couldn’t help it, we were up on the fourth floor of my office and the building was literally SWAYING. Not something I could ever get used to.

    • Jenny

      I didn’t know that it went all the way out to Ohio!!! That’s crazy! And I agree, definitely do not want to have to get used to feeling like my building is going to fall over!

Leave a comment