Staples in the Playlist

This past weekend I actually sat down and browsed iTunes for some new tunes.

I used to be an iTunes addict and was always purchasing new songs to add to my playlists but recently I haven’t been making any purchases.

I decided that it was time to take the plunge and finally update my music, especially my workout motivation songs.

After downloading a few new songs to pump up my workouts, I made a new workout playlist to change things up a bit.

As I was adding songs, I realized that there is a list of songs that, no matter what, the majority of them will always be included on my workout playlist:

  • Heart of a Champion – Nelly
  • Cooler Than Me – Mike Posner
  • Since U Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson
  • I Made It – Cash Money Heros
  • Bulletproof – La Roux
  • ‘Till I Collapse – Eminem
  • Stronger – Kanye West
  • Battle field – Jordin Sparks
  • Better Than Her – Matisse
Each one isn’t on every workout list that I have but the majority of them make the cut every single time.

Hey, if it works – no need to fix it, right?!

Ya can’t mess with what is pushing you through those tough workouts!

Workout

After work I headed straight to the gym to get in some cross-training. My scheduled workout for the day was actually a 50 minute run but I wasn’t really feeling hitting the pavement so I decided to swap today and tomorrow’s workouts.

No biggie.

I ended up doing 40 minutes of a random workout on the elliptical followed by the same shoulders and legs workout as last Monday.

Dinner

Dinner tonight was an interesting mix.

Seeing that it was another meal that was thrown together from things in the fridge, freezer and pantry, I have to say it turned out pretty dang good!

Mediterranean Quinoa with Ground Beef

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz. ground beef
  • 1/4 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 tbsp. frozen green pepper
  • 1 tbsp. frozen chopped onion
  • 1+ tbsp. sliced black olives
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • Sprinkle of basil
  • Sprinkle of oregano

I cooked the quinoa according to the package while I browned the ground beef in a skillet pan.

Once the quinoa was almost ready, I added the green pepper, onion, basil and oregano to the ground beef and continued cooking.

When both the quinoa and the ground beef mix were ready, I combined them in a bowl and added in the black olives and feta cheese.

Photobucket

And gave everything a big mix!

Photobucket

And there you have.

Photobucket

A quick and easy dinner of your everyday on hand ingredients (at least in my kitchen!).

Now it’s time to settle in on the couch to enjoy some animal crackers and dip (made from cool whip, chocolate sauce and caramel topping) and The Bachelorette!

Photobucket

Have I mentioned that I heart JP?!?

Question:

Do you have certain songs that always end up on your workout playlist?


4 responses to “Staples in the Playlist

Leave a comment