Santa Fe Chicken Salad

Last night I put together santa fe chicken salad that was a spinoff of a recipe that I received in my Hungry Girl Weekly Weigh-In email.

I happened to have the majority of the ingredients on hand and I tweaked where needed/I preferred.

Santa Fe Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp. chopped red pepper
  • Tastefully Simple Onion Onion
  • 6 oz. chicken breast
  • ¼ cup black beans
  • ¼ cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
  • ¼ cup fresh chunky salsa
  • 2 tbsp. plain Greek yogurt
  • Tastefully Simple Fiesta Party seasoning
  • Salt

I first boiled the chicken breast.

While it was cooking, I sautéed the pepper with the onion onion until tender, in a sprayed skillet pan.

I then mixed together in a medium bowl the cooked pepper, black beans, corn and salsa.

Photobucket

Once the chicken was ready, I shredded it using two forks.

Photobucket

And then added it to the mix.

Photobucket

I gave everything a big stir and sprinkled the mix with salt and the fiesta party seasoning.

Photobucket

I added in the yogurt and mixed everything together one last time.

Photobucket

I let the chicken salad sit overnight in the fridge so that the flavor would really set in. I recommend definitely letting it chill in the fridge for at least an hour before serving.

Dinner

I ended up enjoying the chicken salad tonight for dinner in two ways.

Part on a roll to make a santa fe chicken salad sandwich.

Photobucket

And the rest was enjoyed over romaine lettuce to make a salad.

Photobucket

I highly recommend this recipe!!

So so good!


Leave a comment