Creativity in the Kitchen

After I broke free from my office confinementnt today, I came home with zero motivation to hit the gym for part two of my workout.

I had some reward dollars to use before the end of the month at City Sports so I figured what better way to motivate myself than with some new workout clothes.

Guess what?

It worked!

As soon as I got changed into my new Nike tempo shorts I was ready to go!

Workout #2

I started my second workout of the day with 2 miles in 16 minutes.

And then I hit the mats to complete my core circuits.

I haven’t done these circuits or the leg/arm circuits from this morning in forever and I’m already feeling it!!

Woohooo!!!

Dinner

Dinner tonight was a creative mix and match of things in the kitchen that actually turned out to be really good!

Fiesta Tofu Layer Cups

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggroll wrappers
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn
  • 3 oz. baked tofu
  • Tastefully Simple Fiesta Party seasoning
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

I started by spraying three cups of a muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray before covering each with an eggroll wrapper.

Photobucket

I folded the edges around to make the wrapper lay completely flat against the cup.

I baked the wrappers for 20 minutes in an oven pre-heated to 400 degrees.

Once they were crispy, I removed them from the oven and filled each with a spoonful of black beans.

Photobucket

Followed by frozen corn.

Photobucket

Followed by baked tofu.

Photobucket

Sprinkled with Tastefully Simple Fiesta Party seasoning.

Photobucket

And topped with shredded cheddar cheese.

Photobucket

I put the cups back in the oven for another ten minutes, until the filling was heated through and the cheese was melted.

Photobucket

Fiesta Tofu Layer Cups!

Photobucket

Baby burrito-like bowls?

Photobucket

I meant to top these with salsa, guacamole and plain Greek yogurt but completely forgot once they were ready to eat!

Photobucket

I was so hungry and they looked so good, I had a one track mind!

Photobucket

I’ll definitely try these again with different fillings. Possibly buffalo chicken? Maybe pulled pork? Ohhhh, how about crab dip in a cream cheese mix?!

Photobucket

The possibilities of different combinations are endless! 🙂

Question:

What combination would you try in the eggroll wrapper cups?  I think my next go-round will definitely be crab-wonton-ish inspired!! 🙂


2 responses to “Creativity in the Kitchen

Leave a comment