Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry

Guess what happened today?

Besides me enjoying this ginormous piece of carrot cake during the rest of the birthday celebration at work?

Photobucket

[side note: this icing was to. die. for.  I almost ate the leftovers from other co-workers plates that ate around it because they said it was too much.  Blasphemy!]

I got an email from my apartment’s management company notifying me that a package was waiting.

Hmmm, maybe my tirade made a difference.

Let’s see what happens after a week passes. 🙂

Dinner

Tonight’s dinner was an alteration of a recipe for Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry from Allrecipes.com.

Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry (makes 2 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 4.5 oz. extra firm tofu
  • 5 baby carrots, chopped
  • 1/4 red pepper, sliced
  • 1/4 orange pepper, sliced
  • 2 medium button mushrooms, chopped
  • broccoli florets
  • red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1.5 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. plus 1 tsp. honey
  • 1 tbsp. plus 1 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. cornstarch, dissolved in 1.5 tbsp. warm water
  • 1.5 tbsp. water
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • pinch Tastefully Simple Onion Onion
  • pinch Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger

To start, I prepped the vegetables and tofu by slicing, cutting and chopping them all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I then heated the oil over medium heat in a skillet pan on the stove top. Once warm, I added the onion onion and garlic garlic and let simmer.

Next, the added the tofu and allowed the mix to cook for about 5 minutes before stirring in the carrots and peppers.

Once the vegetables began to soften and the tofu was browning, I added in the mushrooms and broccoli and sprinkled the entire mix with red pepper flakes.

Photobucket

In a small sauce pot I combined the water, rice vinegar, honey and soy sauce over medium heat. Once the mixture was simmering, I stirred in the cornstarch and water mix, letting the sauce simmer until thickened.

I topped the vegetable and tofu mix with the sauce, making sure all was evenly coated.

Photobucket

The Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry was perfect served over quinoa.

Photobucket

I really liked the mix of flavors in this dish.

Although, I may have gone a little heavy on the red pepper flakes.

Woah! Mouth on fire!

Off to listen to the end of Brian’s game before calling it a night! 🙂

Question:

Do you pass up on birthday cake and other birthday celebration food in the office? For me, it all depends on what the food being offered is and who we are celebrating. If it is someone in my department I always participate, however, if it is someone in another department and we get offered the “leftovers” I normally politely decline. I eat enough sweets on my own outside of the office – I don’t need extra help! 🙂


2 responses to “Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry

  • Laura @ LauraLikesDesign

    I’ve never understood when people claim that something has too much frosting. From someone who eats it right out of the container, there is no such thing as too much frosting. Too much cake, yes–but not the sweet and creamy deliciousness on top!

    • Jenny

      Totally agree!!!! I honestly was cringing when they were throwing away their plates with icing still on them! Especially since the edge of this cake was covered in toasted walnuts! They made the bites off all icing even better!

Leave a comment