Worth the Wait

I got to do one of my favorite things after work today.

Grocery shop!

I was clean out of fresh fruits and veggies and, in my opinion, that is just completely unacceptable!

I actually was proud of myself when I left the store because I was starving the whole time I was there and I don’t know about you but if I am at the grocery store and am hungry, I normally leave with a cart full of things that I don’t need.

Not this trip though.

I think it may have been because I was so hungry I just wanted to get my groceries and get home to make dinner!

Dinner

Dinner prep started with the side dish since it needed extra time to cook in the oven.

Roasted Sweet Potato Discs

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp. earth balance

First, I washed and thinly sliced the sweet potato.

Photobucket

I then spread the disc like pieces on a foiled and sprayed baking tray.

I coated the discs with a little cooking spray and then sprinkled them with cinnamon.

Photobucket

I roasted the sweet potato discs in the oven that was pre-heated to 400 for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through and sprinkling again with cinnamon.

Photobucket

While the potato was roasting in the oven, I got to work on the main portion of my meal.

Turkey, Spinach and Mushroom Quesadilla

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz. lean ground turkey
  • 4 medium mushrooms
  • handful of baby spinach
  • shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 Laughing Cow queso chipotle cheese wedge
  • tortilla

To start, I chopped the mushrooms into small pieces.

Photobucket

I then cooked the ground turkey and mushroom over medium heat.

Photobucket

Once they were almost cooked through, I added the baby spinach.

Photobucket

When the spinach had wilted, I moved the turkey mixture to top half of the tortilla that I had spread the cheese wedge over.

Photobucket

I topped it with the cheddar cheese and folded over the top.

Photobucket

I then cooked the quesadilla on a sprayed, pre-heated skillet pan on the stovetop, letting each side brown and the cheese melt until gooey!

Photobucket

When everything was ready, I plated the quesadilla and the sweet potato discs, adding the condiments: earth balance for the potatoes and a scoop of plain greek yogurt for the quesadilla.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Wow.  This dinner was definitely worth the quick grocery store visit…and the wait!

Photobucket

Absolutely delicious!

Photobucket

I couldn’t decide which part I liked better.

Photobucket

I kept alternating bites and couldn’t decide which to save for my last one!!

Photobucket

I wish neither one had to end!

PS. I had my first Banana Peanut Butter Fudge Cup for dessert tonight. Definitely my favorite of the different varieties that I made!

I pulled it from the freezer and let it sit on the counter for about five minutes before eating and it was perfect.

A cold treat that was soft enough to bite through with no effort.

Yea, I don’t think those guys are going to be last very long at all!

Off to watch the rest of The Bachelorette…I can’t wait to see who the new bad boy is!!

Questions:

Do you like to go grocery shopping? Do you buy everything in sight that looks even semi-appealing if you go while hungry?  I love grocery shopping.  I find it therapeutic to just walk up and down the aisles grabbing what I needed and checking out the new products on the shelves.  If I go while I am hungry, I usually end up going waaaaay over budget!!! 🙂


6 responses to “Worth the Wait

Leave a comment