Cinnamon Honey Roasted Chickpeas

Lunch

I was so excited for lunch today!

Subway’s Orchard Chicken Salad on whole wheat bread.

With spinach, onions and tomato.

Orchard Chicken Salad

Yummm!

I first tried this sub last year when they released the orchard chicken salad and I instantly loved it – and ate it everyday for a good stretch of time!  I was beyond sad when they took it away.

Kinda like a Disney movie returning to the vault!  You never know when you are going to be able to purchase it again. 

So you can imagine how excited I was when it was released this Spring.  I’m actually kinda surprised this was my first one and that I’m not on #128,322 by now! 😉

**********************

And now, on to other matters…

As promised, the recipe I used for the Cinnamon Honey Roasted Chickpeas on my salad yesterday (adapted from recipe posted on Kiss My Broccoli).

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup chickpeas, cooked

*Note: You can use any combination of agave nectar and honey you wish, equaling up to 2 tbsp.  All honey or all agave work as well!

Ingredients

To start, mix the vinegar, nectar, honey and cinnamon in a bowl.  Add in the chickpeas and toss to coat.

I let mine sit while the oven was preheating to 375ºF. 

Soaking up the goodness

Once the oven is ready and the chickpeas are coated, move them to a sprayed baking sheet and sprinkle with more cinnamon if desired.

Ready for roastin'

Bake for 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent any from burning.

Remove the roasted chickpeas from the oven and consume as desired.

Let the snacking begin

Obviously, I few straight from the pan are always a given.  Aren’t immediate taste tests mandatory?

Cinnamon Honey Roasted Chickpeas

Suggestions for consumption:

  • As a snack, straight from the bowl
  • On salads
  • With assorted cheeses (and wines, of course).

Leave a comment