Weekly Workout Schedule

In sticking with April goal #2, I’m making my workout schedule for the week!  My work hours get cra-azy this week but hopefully I will be able to stick to the schedule I put together.  Its pretty similar to last week’s workouts.

  • Monday – 3 mile run, Core Circuit workout
  • Tuesday – Group Power class (6-7 a.m.), 2 miles pre and 3 miles post class
  • Wednesday – 5 mile pyramid run, Core Circuit workout
  • Thursday – Group Power class (6-7 a.m.), 2 miles pre and 1 mile post class
  • Friday – Yoga class (6-7 a.m.), Core Circuit workout
  • Saturday – Long Run (8-10 miles), Upper Body Free Weight Circuit

This afternoon was spent running some errands and then at work.  Before leaving the apartment, I put together a smoothie to fuel me through walking around downtown and into work.

Ingredients

  • 1 Raspberry Chobani yogurt
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 100g frozen mixed berries
  • 2 tbsp. whey protein powder
  • 1 pinch xantham gum
  • handful of baby spinach
  • ice cubes

Smoothie Ingredients

Mixed Berry Smoothie

Mixed Berry Smoothie

While I was working I munched on some baby carrots, an apple and a Sweet and Salty Chewy Nut Bar from Odwalla. Once I was done with all of my work, I bundled up for the walk home.  It wasn’t too cold out but the wind between the buildings was brutal at times!

Windy!

Wasn’t very windy by the water and plenty of people were still out and about at the harbor!

Circus Show at the Harbor

And so were plenty of birds…

Birds over the water

When I made it home, I got right to prepping dinner.  I found this recipe on Elly Says Opa for Balsamic Maple Glazed Pork and liked the simplicity, ingredients and quick cook time so I decided to whip it up with a few slight changes.

Ingredients

  • sprinkle of basil
  • sprinkle of oregano
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. syrup
  • 1 medium sized, lean, boneless pork chop

I began by cutting the pork chop into four medallion sized pieces by cutting the chop in half and then slicing both of into two more thin pieces.

I then rubbed the medallions with basil, oregano, salt and pepper.  I sprayed a small skillet pan with cooking spray and heated it over medium heat.  Once warm, I added the pork and cooked for two minutes per side.

After the medallions were close to cooked through, I removed them from the pan and added the balsamic vinegar, upping the heat to medium high.  I de-glazed the pan with the balsamic and then stirred in the syrup.  Once mixed, I added the pork back to the pan and cooked for another two minutes, one per side.

I plated the pork medallions over brown rice and topped with the remaining glaze from the pan.

Balsamic Maple Glazed Pork Medallions

I also put together a salad to serve for dinner from the mesclun and spinach I purchased at the Farmer’s Market this morning.  I tossed the greens with chickpeas, feta cheese and pomegranate vinaigrette dressing.

Mixed Greens Salad

The salad complemented the pork medallions perfectly.

Pork Medallions and Salad

I definitely recommend this recipe for a quick, tasty meal that has minimal ingredients that can be found in almost every kitchen on any given day.

Dinner!

For now, it’s off to browse through Hungry Girl 300 Under 300 recipe book that I picked up at Barnes and Noble today on my travels!  I’m sure some yummy recipes will follow soon!

Hungry Girl

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!


2 responses to “Weekly Workout Schedule

Leave a comment